Body Dysmorphia.

How does Imaged Fashion prove to be detrimental to the Self Image?

I have refined the focus of my research summary from Imaged Fashion vs. the Self Image to the singular aspect of body dysmorphia. This mental disorder negatively affects many people’s perception of beauty and self-image.  Advertising targets these insecurities by creating an unrealistic depiction of what is deemed ‘attractive’, enticing you to buy their product under the impression that it will correct your perceived flaw. The fashion is an industry fuelled by consumerism.  By setting unattainable standards of beauty and encouraging aspiration to a certain body type, the target audience will consistently be trying to obtain the flawless image of the photo shopped models in the advertisements.  How is the viewer to look like the model in the advertisement when not even they look like that?

I have explored various art pieces that address some of the social impacts of the Fashion industry, including consumerism, unhealthy aspirations and empowerment of people to think independently from fashion magazines.

It is my personal view and struggle as a larger sized individual to find outfits that appeal to me, are flattering or available in my size that has prompted me to follow this specific topic.  Fashion should be a way to express yourself, not a means for others to judge you.

The intention behind my artwork is to address the lack of range in garments available for larger sizes.  I aim to create a piece that promotes equality within the fashion industry and discourage body shaming of any size.

 

Leave a comment